Find out which of our chew-tastic sweets are suitable for vegans!
Veganism has risen in popularity over the past few years, with initiatives such as Veganuary pushing people to think about what they eat. Whether you’ve been a vegan for a long time or are considering a lifestyle change, it’s important to know if you can get your claws on a packet of Chewits without going against your diet.
But are Chewits vegan?
You’ll be happy to know that, in addition to all our ranges being vegetarian, some of them are vegan as well. So, no matter what your diet is, there’s still plenty to chews from!
What does it mean to be a vegan?
A vegan is someone who doesn’t consume anything containing animal products. Like vegetarians, vegans don’t eat meat or fish but they take this a step further and will also avoid animal by-products such as dairy and eggs.
Vegans have an entirely plant-based diet and some vegans will also avoid certain items that have been made with animal products too. For example, wearing leather shoes or using cosmetics that contain animal products or are tested on animals.
How many people are vegans?
Only a small number of the world’s population follow an exclusively plant-based diet or consider themselves vegan. But the number is growing, particularly among young people. In 2018, research carried out by The Vegan Society found that there were over half a million vegans living in Britain.
In recent years, popular campaigns such as Veganuary, which encourages people to become vegan for the month of January, have seen greater numbers of people willing to give veganism a go. In 2022, Veganuary saw a record-breaking number of 600,000 sign-ups.
What are the benefits of being a vegan?
Reported gains to becoming vegan include possible health benefits of the diet, helping the environment by reducing your carbon footprint and of course, the obvious benefits to the animal population.
Some of the people who try a vegan diet short-term discover that the lifestyle change suits them in the long term and decide to carry on with it even after the initial challenge has ended.
Obviously, this means that more and more people are looking for plant-based alternatives to many of their favourite foodstuffs and other items that would have traditionally contained products from animals.
Did you know?
Chewie loves chomping on fruit!
One of his favourites is strawberries – so you’ll always find him with a bag of Strawberry Juicy Bites. He might even chews to share them… if you’re lucky!
Are Chewits vegan friendly?
If you’re thinking of becoming vegan, or you already are, you’ll probably be trying to find out which of your favourite sweets and treats you can still enjoy whilst maintaining your vegan principles and of course, Chewits fans and those of you with a sweet tooth will want to know, “Are Chewits vegan?”
The great news is that yes, many of our Chewits products ARE vegan friendly. All of our Chewits Bites, Laces, Twists and Wands are suitable for vegans.
It also includes the three tempting products in the Chewits Juicy Bites range: Strawberry Juicy Bites, Blue Raspberry Juicy Bites and Xtreme Sour Apple & Lemon Bites.
That means even if you’re choosing to follow a vegan diet or considering becoming vegan in the future, you’ll still have a wide variety of tasty Chewits products to choose from. Hurrah!
What about Chewits chews?
Unfortunately, the products in our Chewits chew range are NOT suitable for vegans. This is because they contain egg white, an animal product.
Chewits chews are, however, suitable for vegetarians and do not contain gelatine.
You can find out more about the suitability of our products for vegetarian in our article, “Are Chewits vegetarian?”
If you’ve still got questions or if there’s anything else you want to know about Chewits or any of our products, then you can contact us and we’ll get back to you with an answer as soon as we can.